Alice in Wonderland

 
 
 
" ‘Curiouser and curiouser!’, cried Alice (she was so much surprised that for the moment she quite forgot how to speak good English) (…)"
 
‘Curiouser and curiouser!’, said Alice again as she walked through the tiny door.
 
I went to the cinema yesterday to see Tim Burton’s version of Alice’s Adventures. I was really curious about it and there were two main reasons for that. First, Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland is one of my favourite children’s literaure books, although I’m not really sure it is literature for children – it does not seem to be meant only for them. Second, Burton’s films are always amazing. And a 3-D film! Wow! I was really excited about it!
 
However, I got a bit disappointed. The film was too grey and sinister, far different from those Walt Disney’s colourful productions one may be used to seeing. I haven’t read Through the Looking-Glass yet but I was under the impression there were some parts of that book in the film such as the moments in which the White Queen shows – there wasn’t a White Queen in the first book – and the Red Queen in Burton’s film was actually The Queen of Hearts. Besides, I had to watch a dubbed version, which I hate doing, but that wasn’t Burton’s fault, was it?
 
Anyway, I recommend it to anyone who has a bit of imagination and would like to be in a fantasy world for at least 102 minutes.
 
 
                         
Leave a Reply

