Coke means Pepsi

I couldn’t forget to comment one of my students’ brilliant deduction during the reading of a text on the blackboard.
It was a simple text about Tom’s routine, a Japanese boy. It said that Tom drank Coke at lunch time and I didn’t want to translate it, I wanted them to think a little harder and try to understand it, since Coke is Coca-Cola in Portuguese. Not a tough task at all.

– Ok, guys. What do you think this word means? As I pointed to the word COKE.

– Hmm…

– It’s a drink.

– Hmmm…

– It’s a soda.

– Hmmmm…

Then, from the bottom of this boy’s brain, it finally comes out:

– PEPSI!!!

As everybody laughed, I could only think “Well done, Chris”.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

