Down the Hill

 

 Down the hill there are people
They laugh, they cry, they fight, they survive
Up the hill there are people too
They don’t laugh as much as the people down the hill do
They worry instead.

They are satisfied with their comfort zone
So satisfied that they forget or don’t even know
What it is like to give a happy life a try.

Up the hill there are more opportunities
For one to get into that comfort zone
Down the hill there’s more affection
From those who will really miss you if you’re gone.

I’m not so sure I should go uphill anymore
Whenever I’m on the top
I look downhill and wish I were there.
However, whenever I’m at the bottom,
I wish I were on the top.

Maybe I should go uphill
But come back down
Before I get into that comfort zone
And forget how good it is to live down here.

Down the hill is where I am
Uphill is where I’ll go
But down the hill is where I’ll be
To live happily or so.

[Cave Hill. Belfast. County Antrim, Ireland] (LOC)
Image by The Library of Congress via Flickr
3 thoughts on “Down the Hill

  1. What a lovely poem and so true. Having all the goodies doesn’t make you happy – it just makes you expect more. NOT having the goodies is ok too because there are goals to set, degrees to earn, thinks to learn.

    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

