Midnight in Paris

Midnight in Paris could be another crazy and even boring Woody Allen’s film, which made

Midnight in Paris
Midnight in Paris

me feel a little reluctant in watching it. However, moved by the wonderful comments I’ve heard, I decided to give it a try.

As you may have already noticed, I’m not a Woody Allen’s work fan, but I have to  admit this film caught my attention. It’s such a beautiful and romantic film, I’d watch it a million times, but mind you, I’m not the romantic type at all. Don’t get me wrong, when I say romantic, I’m making a reference to the Romanticism era romantic style and not to any of those silly romantic comedies in which the protagonists argue all the time and end up happily together whatsoever.

In this film, Owen Wilson is a writer who travels to Paris along with his fiancée and her parents, who are on business, and, one night, after a wine tasting party, decides to walk back to his hotel while his fiancée goes dancing with a couple of friends. After walking a while and getting lost, he sits on some stairs feeling a bit dizzy and right after the bells toll midnight, a car from the 1920’s approaches him and some guys invite him to get inside. He’s taken to a party where he meets one of his idols, Scott Fitzgerald. Later, he meets other famous writers and artists such as Ernest Hemingway, Gertrude Stein, Pablo Picasso and Salvador Dalí. Despite the fantasy, this film is pure gold because what it really shows us is the fact that we always believe that we could have a better life than the one we actually do.

Midnight in Paris also presents beautiful photography and a nostalgic soundtrack which transport the audience to the City of Light, especially to the one of the 1920’s and that made me think I was there in the wrong season. Paris in the Spring or Summer must be a totally different city from the one I saw in the Winter. I reckon I need to go back there when the sky isn’t that grey to carefully see all the beauty I’ve missed.

2 thoughts on “Midnight in Paris

Leave a Reply

