Cold Shoulder

  You say it’s all in my head And the things I think just don’t make sense So where you been then? Don’t go all coy Don’t turn it ‘round on me like it’s my fault See I can see that look in your eyes The one that shoots me each and every time You grace me with your cold shoulder Whenever you look at me I wish I was her You shower me with words made of knives Whenever you look at me I wish I was her These days when I see you You make it look like … Continue reading Cold Shoulder

Mispronunciation

Speaking English, or simply pronouncing a word in English correctly in Brazil to someone who doesn’t speak it can be either funny or annoying, it depends on your mood. I asked, today, for Adele’s DVD and was immediately “corrected” by the salesman: “Ade-LE, you mean”. As I happen to be an English teacher, my first thought was to correct him, but on a second thought, and for being in a “whatever” mood, I just realised it wasn’t worth it and said: “Yes, exactly, Ade-LE”. Then I noticed his arrogant look, perhaps thinking, “what a dumb girl, can’t even pronounce the … Continue reading Mispronunciation