Manumission

It’s hard to hold the whole world sometimes. You hope you can make a difference in someone’s life and maybe help them have a better life, and/or a better future. It’s just when you realise no one cares. You then grow tired, get exhausted from fighting a battle that isn’t really yours. As a result, you realise how ill you have become. And once again, no one gives a damn.

That’s what’s happened to me.

After years fighting a battle that wasn’t really mine and constantly seeing that no one cares, I decided it was high time I cared about myself. I’ve understood that from the day you are born until the day you are gone, you are taught not to think only about yourself and that you have to be a selfless person because that’s the right thing to do. But when you realise you have annulled yourself and that no one cares if you are either helping someone or mentally (un)healthy, it all becomes pointless. So you’ve reached the point where you decide to quit. Call me a chicken if you will, but I have finally found out that no one will ever care about me as much as I should.

So, that’s it. I’m hitting the brakes and moving in another direction. In the direction of things that make me feel peaceful and valued. I have started to care about what and whom truly matter to me, and if you disapprove of it… Well, dear, the only thing  I can say is:

I COULDN’T CARE LESS!

6 thoughts on “Manumission

  1. We have to be our best companion, Letícia! + continuously improve ourselves in character and skilss. Good friends are rare, but you will find them when at the right time. 🙂

Leave a Reply

